Activities

PVHS Clubs Listing 2017-2018
*indicates the Club Name will link to the Club website. 
 
AEQUALIS  - Ms. Coryat (scoryat@pvsd.org)
The purpose of the Aequalis Club is to inform and make a difference in the world of equality.  The club will focus on gender, race, privilege, and society and their standings in equality.  The club will fundraise for charities and spread information about equality.
 
*ANKHOR CLUB - Mr. Hunsicker (thunsicker@pvsd.org)
Ankhor is an organization that pairs high school students with their younger K-8 peers for online math. The tutoring is done completely online outside of school hours at a mutually agreed on time between the high school tutor and younger student. The tutoring will occur one hour each week through collaborative documents, video chat, and an online whiteboard. This is all provided on the Ankhor website where each tutor and student will create an account. Here is the link to the Ankhor website if you would like more information. 
 
ART CLUB  - Mr. Libby (rlibby@pvsd.org)
Art Club at PVHS is a place for personal exploration.  Students are encouraged to work on their own original pieces in a creative and comfortable environment.  Some group exercises or collaborative projects will take place, but for the most part, students will bring in whatever materials they want to work with and have the chance to share and converse with other artists.  This is also the perfect place to work on things that you wouldn’t normally get to do in class.  Also, if you don’t have art in your schedule, but are interested in art, this is the club for you!  Art Club meets every other Thursday in room 128.
 
BIG BROTHERS/BIG SISTERS – Mrs. Burger (jburger@pvsd.org), Ms. Paulus (kpaulus@pvsd.org)
Qualifying high school students are paired with elementary students who have demonstrated a real need for a role model/mentor.  You will meet with your little “brother” or little “sister” after school at one of our elementary schools.
 
CHESS CLUB – Mr. Rudolph (arudolph@pvsd.org)
This club will provide students with an opportunity to play fellow students and faculty.  You will deepen your knowledge of chess and improve your higher level thinking skills.
 
CLUB.EXE COMPUTER CLUB – Mr. Pennebacker (dpennebacker@pvsd.org)
Each year the computer club plans the Hour of Code. The events inspires hundreds of community members to learn to code. Computer Club tackles special interest problems and assists with computer management throughout the high school. Additionally, computer club participates in the PA State Computer Fair where students assemble projects from various disciplines. If you know how to code, looking to learn or share a passion for computers then computer club is for you!
  
DEBATE – Dr. Gelman (igelman@pvsd.org)
 
DRAMA – Mr. Lyczak (mlyczak@pvsd.org)
  
ENVIROTHON – Mrs. Gallagher (rgallagher@pvsd.org)
Enhance the environmental standards with hands-on activities and county/state competition in forestry, soils, wildlife, aquatics and current events.  You will also perform environmental service related activities such as plant rescue, improvement of our own facility and teaching younger children.  
 
FALL PRODUCTION – Mrs. McAllister (lmcallister@pvsd.org)
Any student in good academic standing may audition for cast or participate as a member of crew.  Auditions are early September with two performances in early to mid November.  Rehearsals are after school, some Saturdays and some evenings.  
  
FELLOWSHIP OF CHRISTIAN ATHLETES – 
 
FRENCH CLUB – Mrs. Carfagno (gcarfagno@pvsd.org), Mrs. Yanez (dyanez@pvsd.org)
The club will expand your exposure to the French language and culture by watching French films, celebrating French holidays and visiting a French restaurant.

GAMING CLUB – Mr. Dreger (rdreger@pvsd.org)
 
The Perkiomen Valley GSA strives to make people feel safe and comfortable in their school environment. We welcome everyone no mater ones race, sexuality, gender, religion, etc. 

GERMAN CLUB -
 
GUITAR CLUB – Mr. Allen (zallen@pvsd.org)
 
INTERACT CLUB -- Mrs. Burg & Mrs.Kelley (mburg@pvsd.org, kakelley@pvsd.org)
This is a service club that is open to all PVHS students. Members will work on both local and international community service projects. Members will also assist the Collegeville Rotary Club and Central Perkiomen Rotary Club with annual fundraisers and projects. Consistent attendance at meetings and participation in projects are club requirements.
 
INVESTMENT CLUB - Mr. Costello (jacostello@pvsd.org)
The purpose of the investment club is to allow students to learn the basics of investing and take part in buying and selling stocks real time using a simulator (no real money will be transacted). Students will learn skills in trading stocks and investing that will set them up for success later in life. There will also be a club-wide stock trading game competition where students will form groups and compete against one another.  
 
JAPAN EXCHANGE CLUB – Mr. Allen & Ms. Kashey (zallen@pvsd.org, mkashey@pvsd.org)
This is a curriculum related club made up of students who host our Japanese “sisters” and who wish to travel to Japan through the exchange.  PVHS has had an exchange partnership with Kamakura Jogakuin Girls School in Japan for over 30 years.  You will learn about Japanese culture, language, food and lifestyles.
 
KEY CLUB – Mrs. Herr (aherr@pvsd.org) & Mr. Lyons (klyons@pvsd.org)
This club is open to any PVHS student.  This club is a service organization serving our high school and community.  There is a $13.50 CHECK ONLY membership fee. Please make the check payable to "Key Club International" and submit to Mrs. Herr in Room 253 by 11/8/17. 
Link to Key Club Google Drive Folder.
 
LITERARY CLUB – Mrs. Riehl (sriehl@pvsd.org)
The Literary Magazine is a school club designed to bridge the gaps within Perkiomen Valley's artistic community . The club meets every other Thursday to promote visual and literary art. Members regularly share their work with peers for constructive feedback in an environment that is safe and conducive to artistic growth. Students submit their work to the editor several times a year to update the club website, which can be accessed by the student body
 
MATH CLUB - Mrs. Verbeke (sverbeke@pvsd.org)

MEDICAL SCIENCES CLUB - Mrs. Wagman (jwagman@pvsd.org)
The purpose of the medical sciences club is to provide students at PVHS with opportunities to explore and gain more knowledge about different careers in the medical sciences. Students will use this knowledge to help guide them in course selection during their high school career, to provide them with information to allow them to make decision regarding their choice of future career paths and to help them make informed choices about their post high school education.

MINORITIES in MAJORITY - Ms. Coryat (scoryat@pvsd.org
Minorities in Majority is a new club founded to provide a safe and recreational space for our diverse Perkiomen Valley family. Fun group activities include games, discussions and special speakers!
 
*MUSICALS – Mr. Griffie (tgriffie@pvsd.org)
Any student may audition.  Auditions are held in late fall, and rehearsals are after school, Saturdays and some evenings.  There is one musical with four performances.  For more information please check out www.pvmb.org.
 
In order to be considered for this club you need to have earned a 4.00 GPA.  You must also demonstrate excellence in service, leadership and character.  To remain in this club, you must maintain the standards for which you were inducted.  Students who are eligible must obtain an application which must be returned by the posted deadline.
  
NEWSPAPER – Mr. Tornambe (jtornambe@pvsd.org
Newspaper club is open to students in grades 9-12. Students in the club apply their writing, interviewing, and photography skills to produce a school newspaper and a news website. Students should be creative, willing to interview different people, write well, and work well with others. The newspaper also needs photographers, web designers, and layout managers. If interested, listen to the announcements and attend the next meeting or see Mr. Tornambe in room 123.   Click here to read the newspaper online!
 
POETRY CLUB - Mr. Heidt (gheidt@pvsd.org)
 
PVID- Mr. Moore (tomoore@pvsd.org)
 
READING OLYMPICS – Mrs. Kelley (kakelley@pvsd.org), Mrs. Lainhart (klainhart@pvsd.org), Ms. Paulus (kpaulus@pvsd.org), and 
Mrs. McAlllister (lmcallister@pvsd.org)
Reading Olympics’ goal is to generate and encourage excitement about reading.  Anyone in grades 9-12 are welcome to join.  Students must maintain academic eligibility to compete on the team.
 
SCIENCE OLYMPIAD TEAM – Ms. McGivney (jmcgivney@pvsd.org)
The Science Olympiad Team meets weekly to prepare for a regional science competition against 30 other schools in Southeastern PA.  The team competes at Cabrini College in February.  Activities include construction of a robot, engineering and building a tower and a car designed to stop before it hits a terminal barrier, and preparation for numerous laboratory and knowledge based events.
 
SHATTERED DREAMS – Mr. Moore (tomoore@pvsd.org)
 
SIGN LANGUAGE – Mrs. Amico (aamico@pvsd.org), Mr. Ciccarone (mciccarone@pvsd.org)
 
STEM RESEARCH and ROBOTICS CLUB 
It’s two clubs in one! The STEM Research Club allows students to conduct independent research on scientific questions and problems that they choose. Students are entered into the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Sciences and the Delaware Valley Science Fair. Students present and share research at competitions with the potential of winning college scholarships!  The STEM Robotics Club is a team based robotics competition. Students build robots and compete with other local schools in the First Robotics League. This club is new to PV!  The club meets every Tuesday after school in room 207.
 
STUDENT FORUM - Mr. Costello (jacostello@pvsd.org)
 
TAKE ACTION – Mr. Craven (jcraven@pvsd.org)
We are a student-driven, environmental advocacy group.  We meet after school and learn how to limit mankind’s negative impact of the Earth and all of its living inhabitants.  Our mission is to make positive differences in both our school and home communities by teaching others about and creating our own sustainable efforts.
 
ULTIMATE FRISBEE CLUB – Mr. Rude (jrude@pvsd.org)
The club is a supportive competitive inclusive co-ed group that uses Ultimate Frisbee as a method of getting into and staying in good physical shape.  We will practice two times per week and participate in a few tournaments.  If you seek a sport that is fun, fast-paced and a little bit different come and join us for a practice.
 
*YEARBOOK – Mr. Komp (tkomp@pvsd.org) & Mrs. Elser - Yearbook Business Advisor (welser@pvsd.org)