Activities

PVHS Clubs Listing 2020-2021
*indicates the Club Name will link to the Club website. 


CHESS CLUB – Mr. Rudolph (arudolph@pvsd.org)
This club will provide students with an opportunity to play fellow students and faculty.  You will deepen your knowledge of chess and improve your higher level thinking skills.
 
DRAMA – Mr. Lyczak (mlyczak@pvsd.org)
The Drama Club provides a safe space for students to explore and hone the craft of acting. Come with an open mind and prepare to engage in
warm-ups, improv, and other dramatic activities.
  
ENVIROTHON – Mrs. Gallagher (rgallagher@pvsd.org)
Enhance the environmental standards with hands-on activities and county/state competition in forestry, soils, wildlife, aquatics, and current events.  You will also perform environmental service related activities such as plant rescue, improvement of our own facility and teaching younger children.  
 
FALL PRODUCTION – Mrs. Fisher (tfisher@pvsd.org)
Any student in good academic standing may audition for cast or participate as a member of crew.  Auditions are early September with two performances in early to mid-November.  Rehearsals are after school, some Saturdays and some evenings.  

FIRST ROBOTICS - Mr. Heidt (gheidt@pvsd.org)
 
GAMING CLUB – Mrs. Giorgio (jgiorgio@pvsd.org), Mr. Nawrocki (bnawrocki@pvsd.org)
Video games, phone games, board games, dice games, card games, any game you like!  Come and hang out with other gamers for some after school fun. Come join us and bring a friend.  Everyone is welcomed.  Feel free to bring your own device.  
 
KEY CLUB –  Mr. Lyons (klyons@pvsd.org)
This club is open to any PVHS student.  This club is a humanitarian/charitable organization serving our high school and local community.  There is a $13.50 CHECK ONLY membership fee. Please make the check payable to "Key Club International" and submit to Mr. Lyons in Room 255 by November 1st. Google Classroom code: yeivvit

LINK Crew - Mrs. Burdis (jburdis@pvsd.org), Dr. Slavin (cslavin@pvsd.org), Ms. Sorber (ksorber@pvsd.org)
Link Crew is our high school transition program that welcomes freshmen and makes them feel comfortable throughout the first year of their high school experience.  Built on the belief that students can help students succeed, we train mentors from our junior and senior classes to be Link Crew Leaders. 
 
MATH CLUB - Mrs. Verbeke (sverbeke@pvsd.org)
The math club meets every Friday in room 246.  The club competes in a series of three competitions throughout the year.  In the fall, we participate in a Math Madness competition.  This event consists of 4 weeks of scrimmaging (including 2 highly popular collaboration rounds) followed by a single elimination bracket tournament - entirely online and team-based.  We compete against teams across the country!  The competition content is an ideal training platform for AMC and other competitions.

MEDICAL SCIENCES CLUB - Mrs. Wagman (jwagman@pvsd.org)
The purpose of the medical sciences club is to provide students at PVHS with opportunities to explore and gain more knowledge about different careers in the medical sciences. Students will use this knowledge to help guide them in course selection during their high school career, to provide them with information to allow them to make decision regarding their choice of future career paths and to help them make informed choices about their post high school education.

MINI-THON- Ms. Kohout (akohout@pvsd.org
PV Mini-THON is a smaller version of Penn State's THON, a major fundraiser for the Four Diamonds organization. Four Diamonds' mission is to conquer childhood cancer and all of the funds we raise through PV's Mini-THON go towards helping that cause. As a club, we plan fundraisers and events to help reach that goal, like car washes, partnering with restaurants, and more. At the end of each year, we have a HUGE Mini-THON celebration where we reveal our total fundraised amount! Meetings are every Friday in room 134 for in-person students and using this Zoom link for virtual students. Please also join the Google Classroom using code 3v5qjfm. Please reach out to Ms. Kohout if you have any questions! 

*MUSICALS – Mr. Mallitz (nmallitz@pvsd.org)
Any student may audition.  Auditions are held in late fall, and rehearsals are after school, Saturdays and some evenings.  There is one musical with four performances. 
 
In order to be considered for this club you need to have earned a 4.00 GPA.  You must also demonstrate excellence in service, leadership and character.  To remain in this club, you must maintain the standards for which you were inducted.  Students who are eligible must obtain an application which must be returned by the posted deadline.
  
NEWSPAPER – Mr. Tornambe (jtornambe@pvsd.org
Newspaper club is open to students in grades 9-12. Students in the club apply their writing, interviewing, and photography skills to produce a school newspaper and a news website. Students should be creative, willing to interview different people, write well, and work well with others. The newspaper also needs photographers, web designers, and layout managers. If interested, listen to the announcements and attend the next meeting or see Mr. Tornambe in room 123.   Click here to read the newspaper online!

The Perkiomen Valley Chamber Ensemble - Mr. Suloman (ssuloman@pvsd.org)
This ensemble meets every Thursday from 3:00 to 4:00 PM in the PVHS Band Room.  It focuses on a more advanced string repertoire that might not be accessible in the everyday classroom. 

PV INK - Mr. Schumacher (rschumacher@pvsd.org), Mr. Storm (mastorm@pvsd.org)
This club runs like a small screen printing business. We print apparel for various events, clubs and sports teams within the district, as well as outside clients (ex. Perkiomen Township Fire Co.). Members will get the opportunity to learn how to work with clients, create designs, print shirts, as well as perform machine maintenance. Members can also get a feel for the business side of things, such as placing orders and dealing with the finances.
PV Ink is open to all students in grades 9-12.
 
SCIENCE OLYMPIAD TEAM – Mr. Knaster (kknaster@pvsd.org)
The Science Olympiad Team meets weekly to prepare for a regional science competition against 30 other schools in Southeastern PA. The competitions are virtual this year but the team is competing at an invitational organized by Penn State in February and the Science Olympiad regional tournament in March. Activities include building a boomilever, making a gravity vehicle, designing a chemistry lab and knowledge based events.

SPEECH & DEBATE – Dr. Gelman (igelman@pvsd.org)
Speech & Debate is a great way to learn and debate many social/political and world issues. Besides debating, Speech & Debate is also great for students who would like to do a dramatic poetry reading or perform a literature piece with a 10 minute time limit.
 
STUDENT FORUM - Mrs. Marino (kamarino@pvsd.org), Dr. Slavin (cslavin@pvsd.org)

ULTIMATE FRISBEE CLUB – Mr. Rude (jrude@pvsd.org)
The club is a supportive competitive inclusive co-ed group that uses Ultimate Frisbee as a method of getting into and staying in good physical shape. We will practice two times per week and participate in a few tournaments. If you seek a sport that is fun, fast-paced and a little bit different come and join us for a practice.

VIKING BUDDIES - Mrs. Miller (amiller@pvsd.org)
Viking Buddies is a club is for anyone who needs a friend or wants to be a friend. Together we help to build friendships through after school and evening gatherings. At the school and in the community. We plan events, activities, and outings throughout the year. Viking Buddies believe we are stronger when we celebrate diversity and our mission is to share this belief with all of the PV community! 

WALKING CLUB - Mrs. Greenwald (mgreenwald@pvsd.org)
Where can you go to hang out with your friends while enjoying the beautiful weather? WALKING CLUB. Come join us (weather permitting). We meet in room 214 and then head outside.
 
*YEARBOOK – Mr. Komp (tkomp@pvsd.org) & Mrs. Elser - Yearbook Business Advisor (welser@pvsd.org)