HOME‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

AP Exam Information and Schedule

posted Apr 3, 2020, 11:49 AM by Kristi Lainhart   [ updated Apr 3, 2020, 11:58 AM ]



Here’s what you should know about the 2019-20 AP Exam administration.  

Exam Length, Structure, and Format

  • The exams will only include topics and skills most AP teachers and students have already covered in class by early March. We know that some students have lost more class time than others, and we want to be fair to all students.

  • Like many college-level exams, this year’s AP Exams will be open book/open note. 

  • Most exams will have one or two free-response questions, and each question is timed separately. Students will need to write and submit their responses within the allotted time for each question.

  • For most subjects, the exams will be 45 minutes long, and include an additional 5 minutes for uploading. Students will need to access the online testing system 30 minutes early to get set up.

  • Students will be able to take exams on any device they have access to—computer, tablet, or smartphone. They will be able to either type and upload their responses or write responses by hand and submit a photo via their cell phone.

  • Students taking AP world language and culture exams will complete two spoken tasks consistent with free-response questions three and four on the current AP Exam; written responses will not be required. 

Students Who Don’t Have Internet or a Device

We recognize that some students may not have access to the tools and connectivity they need to review AP content online and take the exam. If you are a student or you know a student who needs mobile tools or connectivity, you can go to cb.org/tech by April 24, 2020.

Courses with Portfolio Submissions

The following courses will use portfolio submissions and will not have a separate online exam. All deadlines for these submissions have been extended to May 26, 2020, 11:59 p.m. ET:

  • Drawing - Studio Art

  • Computer Science Principles (note: this portfolio submission is best done on a laptop)

Exam Timing and Tasks

  • Exams will be given from May 11 through May 22.

  • Each subject’s exam will be taken on the same day at the same time, worldwide.

  • Make-up test dates will be available for each subject from June 1 through June 5.

  • Students can take the exam at home or in school, if schools reopen.

  • SSD Students: AP Tests will automatically apply extended time for students with disabilities.


Exams by Local Start Times

Below are the primary exam dates.

Exam Start Times: Local times may vary depending on a student's geographic location.

Hawaii Time: 6:00am
Alaska Time: 8:00am
Pacific Time: 9:00am
Mountain Time: 10:00am
Central Time: 11:00am
Eastern Time: 12:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 4:00pm

Hawaii Time: 8:00am
Alaska Time: 10:00am
Pacific Time: 11:00am
Mountain Time: 12:00pm
Central Time: 1:00pm
Eastern Time: 2:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 6:00pm

Hawaii Time: 10:00am
Alaska Time: 12:00pm
Pacific Time: 1:00pm
Mountain Time: 2:00pm
Central Time: 3:00pm
Eastern Time: 4:00pm
Greenwich Mean Time: 8:00pm

11-May

Physics C: Mechanics

Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

United States Government and Politics

12-May

Latin

Calculus AB

 

Calculus BC

Human Geography

13-May

Physics 2: Algebra-Based

English Literature and Composition

European History

14-May

Spanish Literature and Culture

Chemistry

Physics 1: Algebra-Based

15-May

Art History

United States History

Computer Science A

18-May

Chinese Language and Culture

Biology

Environmental Science

19-May

Music Theory

Psychology

Japanese Language and Culture

 

Italian Language and Culture

20-May

German Language and Culture

English Language and Composition

Microeconomics

21-May

French Language and Culture

World History: Modern

Macroeconomics

22-May

Comparative Government and Politics

Statistics

Spanish Language and Culture